Image Source

Last year at our school, spurred on by my mutual passions for creating/creativity and sustainability, I started a creative reuse center/ makerspace called Imagination Station.  It is a place for artful activity and houses a myriad of materials for teachers and students to use for art and other educational purposes.  All materials are donated by individuals and local businesses and as such our Imagination Station promotes sustainability through the reuse and repurposing of material otherwise destined for the landfill.  In terms of student learning it promotes creativity, critical thinking, hands on experimental learning, problem solving and communication skills.

I am interested in extending this program into our school library.  I have set up a mini Imagination Station rolling cart for students to use when creating responses to books and topics discussed in the library.  I would love to continue to create more opportunities for students to create and be creative within our library.  So far I have focused solely on low tech hands on makerspace activities but would love to expand to digital maker opportunities such as computer programming/coding, electronics/circuits, robotics, video making and editing, and animation.  I piloted a genius hour in the library last year and a number of students chose to include animation, video making and robotics into their topics and or presentations so I know the interest is there.

There are so many digital technologies to support makerspaces, it is difficult to know where to begin.  Below I have listed some digital technologies for exploration as well as some key terms to help in my research.  I plan to use google search, UBC Library databases, social media and the community of TLs in my district to find some my information

Digital technologies to explore: web design, programming/coding, electronics/circuits, robotics, animation, green screen technology, video editing

Programs/tools to explore: Scratch, Brushbot, Makey Makey, Little Bits, Raspberry Pi,

Key Terms: Learning commons, makerspace, constructivism, constructionism, design thinking, growth mindset, media literacy, tinkering, STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts, mathematics)

