Featured Image Source

As discussed in my last post, I am more than thrilled to be creating a school library website for my final vision project.  While we have an amazing district elementary virtual learning commons, we do not have a school library website. Having a website just for your school allows everyone in your school community to easily access information targeted for them in one central place as well as extending the learning and support beyond your school walls.

I am using a free WordPress blog for my format, a format that is both familiar to me and considered an acceptable format for websites within my district. Now just because I have used it before, does not mean that I am not running into any challenges.  I am trying my best to make this website easy to navigate for everyone: parents, student, teacher and administrators alike which means the rolling blog format simply won’t do.  Formatting this new website will definitely be my biggest challenge.

After navigating some other school library websites for inspiration I have decided that my website must have the following:

  • A fixed home page with all pertinent information – School location, school website link, library hours, Library Twitter time line widget and quick links
    • *I am still deciding as to whether my homepage should be a ‘Static Front Page’ or if a ‘Static Front Page with Blog’ or a ‘Dynamic Front Page’ may better suit my audience.  WordPressshares these classifications and how to implement them in their WordPress Codex (manual).
  • A Menu Bar that is organized by useful and easy to understand subjects that will direct patrons to where they need to go
  • Pages that contain useful content, images and links for patrons.

I am currently in the construction phase, meaning I know what I want it to look like I just have to make it happen.  I have added all of my tabs into my menu bar with the corresponding pages, most pages are still empty but I am happy to have the format in place.  Both pages and additional menu items can be customized in the Edit section; pages can be added by pressing the add button beside pages in the Publish section and ‘tabs’ or extra menu items can be added in the Personalize section by pressing + beside an existing menu item.  That process once I figured it out, has proven to be very reliable and fairly simple to follow.  What has been a challenging and is still challenging is how to customize the format of my home page.

I would like my home page to be welcoming and easily viewed at first glance, I do not want patrons to have to scroll around for information.  I am currently focusing my learning on adding widgets so I can make this possible.  Adding widgets has most definitely been the greatest challenge for me, as you can either create them within WordPress or download them and I am not sure which to use.  I may decide to select a different theme that includes these widgets on my homepage to avoid this step all together I hope. Fingers crossed that all the preliminary work I have done with adding menu items and pages does not get lost in the process!

I also need to find an image that is available for use under creative commons licensing that will set the tone for the website and get everyone excited to use it. I have toyed with the idea of creating a school library logo for the homepage but know that I must focus my energy on the website itself.  I can create and add a school library logo in the future if time allows.


Works Cited

Baron, Brendan. “How To Add A Twitter Feed To Your WordPress Website.” Elegant Themes. N.p., 4 Apr. 2015. Web. 27 Nov. 2016.

WordPress.org. “Creating a Static Front Page « WordPress Codex.”  WordPress.org, n.d. Web. 27 Nov. 2016.

